A perfect world

I wonder how we would be
If I could still call you mine
Would you be the sweet song of spring
Or a winter morning sunshine?
And perhaps in a perfect world,
Your hand would’ve never left mine

Would I see the twinkle in your eye
Or my own reflection like I used to?
Would we be the grumpy old couple who bicker?
Or would we be the the couple envied?
And you making our world divine?
And perhaps in a perfect world,
Your hand would’ve never left mine

Its amazing how I can write endlessly
About the love we had
What we share and perhaps what lies ahead.
Would we age gracefully like wine?
And perhaps in a perfect world,
Your hand would’ve never left mine

There may be another love
But no other love like you
You were the wind beneath my wings
And the courage it took as I flew
After the fork in the road
Nothing seems to be fine
And perhaps in a perfect world
Your hand would’ve never left mine

Leave a Reply

