From a Daughter in India

This blog post started taking shape in my head when I read the reports about the accused in the Nirbhaya  case showing no remorse. Yes she was a girl raped wait I stand corrected, gang raped in a moving bus and I  won’t get into the details because I am sure by now everyone knows it. The accused says with no trace of  remorse that she shouldn’t have resisted and she should have let it happen. I was dumbfounded after I read  this and that comment will stay etched onto my memory reminding me of the misogynistic roots and perhaps  the misinterpretation and also the degree of gender inequality and regressive outlook people share.

I am a girl and grateful for the fact that I was born in a metropolis like Mumbai and raised in a reasonably  liberal family. I am one of those lucky girls who survived the misogynous wrath that kills a girl child in the womb and so far I have survived in a huge city like Mumbai without any sexual offense committed against me but this is not about me. This is about the girls who stay in the remotest crevices of this country, the girls who perhaps are stripped of their innocence even before they know what it really means. Statistics claim that a woman is  raped every 20 minutes in India; what about the ones that go unreported and about those who are killed before they can breathe outside their mothers womb. No wonder a survey by Thomson Reuters states that India is  the 4th most dangerous country for women to live in.

Manan Kumar Mishra, Chairman, Bar Council of India “A female is just like a flower. It gives a good-looking,  very softness pleasant performance. But on the other hand, a man is just like a thorn. Strong, tough enough.

“That flower always needs protection. If you put that flower in a gutter, it is spoilt. If you put that flower in a  temple, it will be worshiped.”

If that was not infuriating enough, the defense lawyers adds insult to injury by saying that

“It was an Arab spring for gender equality,” says the maker of the documentary Leslie Udwin perhaps I should wonder why?

It scares me, not that I will be subjected to any sexual crime it is a fear much larger than that. It is the fact that  there are retrograde people in the legislature if I can take the liberty to call them skid marks. It doesn’t matter  how rich you are or what you do, it is the ideology you nurse in your mind that will change the society. With such an amazing quagmire of education and regressive mindset, matters might tend to be worse.

Moving on, the rapist shows no signs of remorse for the barbaric act. I won’t talk about conscience because  everyone of us has managed to suppress the inner voice that guides us. This is beyond suppressing the moral code of conduct, perhaps his soul is dipped in tar and pimped out to the devil. The wrath of the Lucifer may  burn him in hell when it has to but what about the time he is alive and breathing on the same planet I aspire to breathe free?

Last night I was watching one of my favourite Hindi movies: Veer Zara and they have this brilliant song which  paints a lush green idyllic picture of India; whilst the song played, I couldn’t help ponder over how distant that  dream was. We may need all the urban drama with sky scrapers going higher than the earlier ones but what  the hour demands is sanity. Sane people at least when it comes to administration and legislation of at least  the state affairs. Freedom comes with equal responsibility just like authority comes with responsibility. If there is a certain authority bestowed onto someone it should be dealt with responsibly.

Leave a Reply

